What to Expect When you Stop Expecting

In a couple of weeks, on July 21st, I will have the privilege of giving the sermon, titled What to Expect When You Stop Expecting, at the Greenville Unitarian Universalist Fellowship.

Here’s the blurb for it:

When I was thirty-seven years old, I met my birth mother for the first time. I met my father three years later. In the lead-up to each of these meetings, I made a commitment to myself to expect nothing beyond the first hello. In the ensuing eight (and six) years, deeply connected relationships have unfolded in their own time and way. When I cleared the space of expectation, I found hope, from which followed acceptance, patience and deeper love. The lessons I have learned about how to engage deeply without expectation can apply to any relationship.

If you’re in the neighborhood, stop on in. greenvilleuu.com for address and other details. If you’re not, you can read the full text here on the 22nd.

Leave a Reply

